Connect with us

CFL News

The Argos Unveil New Negotiation List Including RB Bo Scarbrough

The Argos have unveiled ten players from their updated negotiation list. The list includes familiar NFL names like QB Chad Kelly, RB Bo Scarbrough, and DE Jachai Polite.

QB Chad Kelly was initially on Edmonton’s negotiation list earlier this year. His rights were a part of the Argos trade with Edmonton for Nick Arbuckle. Depending on Kelly’s options in the United States (USFL/XFL/NFL). He could be a part of the team’s plans in 2022 if he decides to make the journey north of the border.

Kelly, the former Ole Miss star and seventh-round pick of the Denver Broncos, has been out of the NFL since spending two seasons on the Indianapolis Colts roster in 2019 and 2020. The first-team All-SEC gunslinger has been vocal in recent times about his lack of opportunities to make his way back onto an NFL roster. The CFL could provide an avenue of redemption for Kelly.

Bo Scarbrough, the five-star recruit out of Alabama, was a dynamic player for the Crimson tide before injuries and a timeshare situation at Bama, along with dynamic talents like Josh Jacobs, Damien Harris, and Najee Harris, influenced his decision to forgo his senior year and turn pro in 2018. The Dallas Cowboys selected Scarbrough in the seventh round but just like his time at Alabama. Scarbrough, a dynamic bruising tailback, has had trouble breaking free from the pack, despite shining when given an opportunity.

It’s unclear whether Scarbrough, who has been on the NFL workout circuit, will consider playing in Canada. But the 6’1 235 pound back would be a welcome addition to the Argos backfield. Especially as a power runner. Toronto yielded success with former NFL RB DJ Foster last season. Foster had a phenomenal first year in Canada, racking up over 600 total yards and four touchdowns.

Pass rusher Jachai Polite, the former Florida standout and a third-round pick of the New York Jets in 2019, has had a difficult time finding his footing in the National Football League. Despite being drafted highly, Polite’s stay in New York was extremely brief, and he didn’t make the team’s roster coming out of the preseason. Polite has since spent time with the Rams and Seahawks, but he hasn’t flashed the potential he showed as a Junior in college, amassing 11 sacks with the Gators. The 6’3 245 edge rusher is still only 23 years old, and perhaps a change of scenery could revitalize his pro career.

Toronto has also claimed exclusive rights to starting LT Dejon Allen and DB Treston Decoud. Both former NFL and XFL players made a strong impact for the Boatmen in their first years in the CFL.

Toronto’s scouting department did a great job in 2021 recognizing American talent and then helping bring them on board with the Boatmen. As a result, many of the names on the Argos neg. list are worth filing away for future consideration.

Below is the press release sent by the Canadian Football League to CFLNewshub today.

TORONTO – For the second time this year, the nine Canadian Football League (CFL) teams have unveiled ten players from each of their negotiation lists. Clubs must do so on two occasions throughout the year following a measure approved at the 2018 CFL winter meetings.

CFL by-laws state that teams can claim exclusive CFL rights for up to 45 players by placing them on their negotiation lists. Players can be added, removed, or traded from the lists at any time.

The following players were previously unveiled from their respective clubs’ negotiation lists:

  • OL Dejon Allen (TOR)
  • DL Woody Baron (MTL)
  • DL Malik Carney (HAM)
  • DB Treston Decoud (TOR)
  • WR Steven Dunbar (HAM)
  • DB Randall Evans (OTT)
  • OL Donald Hawkins (MTL)
  • DL Julian Howsare (HAM)
  • DL Anthony Lanier (SSK)
  • OL Andrew Lauderdale (SSK)
  • QB Jake Maier (CGY)
  • DB Najee Murray (MTL)
  • DB Deatrick Nichols (WPG)
  • DL Jarell Owens (CGY)
  • DB Jumal Rolle (HAM)
  • DB Marcus Sayles (WPG)
  • WR Papi White (HAM)
  • WR Tim White (HAM)
  • WR Lucky Whitehead (WPG)
  • DL Jonathan Woodard (SSK)

The ten players announced on each CFL team’s negotiation list are as follows:

Brennan ArmstrongQBVirginia
Hank BachmeierQBBoise State
Spencer BraschQBCalifornia Polytechnic
Chase BriceQBAppalachian State
Max DugganQBTexas Christian
Devin LearyQBNorth Carolina State
Grayson McCallQBCoastal Carolina
Chandler MorrisQBTexas Christian
Jaxon PlayerDLTulsa
Cameron WardQBIncarnate Word
Freedom AkinmoladunDLNebraska
J.T. BarrettQBOhio State
Asmar BilalLBNotre Dame
La’Darren BrownRBOklahoma State
Mike HarleyWRMiami
Anthony Hines IIILBTexas A&M
Cody KesslerQBUSC
Bo NixQBOregon
Spencer SandersQBOklahoma State
Ryan WillisQBVirginia Tech
Logan BonnerQBUtah State
Jake BrowningQBWashington
Mark FieldsDBClemson
Trevon GrimesWRFlorida
Jacob HaenerQBFresno State
Cole KelleyQBSoutheastern Louisiana
Linden StephensDBCincinnati
Skylar ThompsonQBKansas State
Kyle VantreaseQBBuffalo
Scotty WashingtonWRWake Forest
Calvin Austin IIIWRMemphis
Stetson BennettQBGeorgia
Fred BrownWRMississippi State
Brian Cole IILBMississippi State
Shon ColemanOLAuburn
Chase GarbersQBCalifornia
Daeshon HallDLTexas A&M
Levi LewisQBLouisiana Lafayette
Erik MagnusonOLMichigan
Chris RowlandWRTennessee State
Jake BentleyQBSouth Alabama
Keionta DavisDLTennessee-Chattanooga
J.T. HassellDBFlorida Tech
Kobe JonesDLMississippi State
Jaylon McClain-SappDBMarshall
Garrett McGhinOLEast Carolina
Christian MillerDLAlabama
Ryan PopeOLSan Diego State
Jaelin RobinsonOLTemple
Isaiah ZuberWRMississippi State
Anthony BrownQBOregon
Jayden de LauraQBWashington State
Sam HartmanQBWake Forest
Vosean JosephLBFlorida
Jamie NewmanQBWake Forest
Drew PlittQBBall State
Shawn PoindexterWRArizona
Jordan Ta’AmuQBOle Miss
Taulia TagovailoaQBMaryland
Jamar WatsonLBKentucky
Britain CoveyWRUtah
Willie HarveyLBIowa State
Hendon HookerQBTennessee
Jonathan HubbardOLNorthwestern State
Chad KellyQBOle Miss
Javon LeakeRBMaryland
Ledarius MackDLBuffalo
Jachai PoliteDLFlorida
Shedeur SandersQBJackson State
Bo ScarbroughRBAlabama
Dustin CrumQBKent State
Jayden DanielsQBArizona State
Marcus JonesDBHouston
Trevon McSwainDTDuke
Tanner MorganQBMinnesota
La’Michael PettwayWRIowa State
Kalil PimpletonWRCentral Michigan
Sam RennerDTMinnesota
Eric SchmidQBSam Houston State
Montrell WashingtonWRSamford
Jack AbrahamQBMississippi State
Sean CliffordQBPenn State
Coy CronkOLIowa
Christian DiLauroOLIllinois
Lance LenoirWRWestern Illinois
Chris MillerDBBaylor
Damion RatleyWRTexas A&M
Daniel SmithQBVillanova
Elijah SullivanLBKansas State
Rogan WellsQBWestern California

Subscribe to our CFL News Hub YouTube Channel. Get breaking news and the latest CFL news. Plus the CFL Week In Review Podcast.
author avatar
Mike Mitchell Reporter
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in CFL News

CFL News Hub