Connect with us

CFL News

The Toronto Argonauts Announce Final Cuts, Set Roster For 2023 Season

The Toronto Argonauts won’t begin their regular season until Week 2 at home against the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. Nonetheless, the Argos had to make their final roster cuts to get down to 45 players for the upcoming season. 

Toronto can also add up to 15 players to their practice roster before the 2023 CFL season starts. The Argonauts have added 13 names to that squad.


Added to Practice Roster: (13)

  • CDN LB Brandon Calver
  • CDN LB Daniel Kwamou 
  • CDN OL Braydon Noll
  • AME WR B.J. Byrd
  • AME DB J.T. Hassell
  • AME WR Jeremiah Haydel
  • AME OL Aron Johnson
  • AME DB Isiah King
  • AME RB Deonta McMahon
  • AME DB Mason Pierce
  • GLO DB Tigie Sankoh
  • GLO K Alfredo Gachuz-Lozada
  • GLO LB Emmanuel Falola

There are two practice roster spots open, and could also be additions to the inactive list. OT Shane Richards and DB Maurice Carnell IV figure to start the season there.

To get down to the required roster size. The Argos have released 19 players and placed five players on the suspended list. The team has also brought back interior offensive lineman Braydon Noll.

There is no such thing as a final roster in sports, especially in pro football. As evidenced by last year at this time, DB Maurice Carnell IV was released at final cuts, only to return to Toronto and have one of the best seasons of any defensive player on their championship roster.


TORONTO – The Toronto Argonauts announced the following transactions today:


  • Canadian OL Braydon Noll


  • Canadian WR Richard Burton
  • Canadian LB Enoch Penney-Laryea
  • Canadian DL Michael Pezzuto
  • Canadian WR Savaughn Magnaye-Jones
  • Canadian FB Chase Arseneau
  • Canadian FB Mario Villamizar
  • Canadian DB Cody Hale
  • American DL Keyshawn James
  • American DL Damontre Moore
  • American DB Keith Washington
  • American DB Caleb Holden
  • American DL Casey Williams
  • American DL Tyree Johnson
  • American DL Tyler Williams
  • American WR Lonnie Moore
  • American WR Quian Williams
  • American QB Ben Holmes
  • American OL Ralph Singleton
  • Global DL Simeon Okonta-Wariso

Suspended List:

  • American WR RaJae’ Johnson
  • Canadian LB Brendan Murphy
  • Canadian LB Ife Onyemenam
  • Canadian OL Edouard Paradis
  • Canadian OL Anthony Vandal

author avatar
Mike Mitchell Reporter
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in CFL News

CFL News Hub