Connect with us

CFL News

CFL Players Association Welcomes New Vice Presidents: Lauther, Thomas, and Mackie

3 Key Points

  • Brett Lauther, Jake Thomas, and David Mackie have been chosen as the new vice presidents of the CFLPA.
  • Adam Bighill transitions to treasurer, while Solomon Elimimian and Brian Ramsay maintain their current positions.
  • The newly elected board members are committed to advancing the welfare and success of the CFLPA.

New Leadership Elected to the CFLPA Board

The Canadian Football League Players Association (CFLPA) has announced the election of three new vice presidents during its annual general meeting. Players Brett Lauther from the Saskatchewan Roughriders, Jake Thomas of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, and David Mackie from the B.C. Lions have been elected to represent the organization as vice presidents.

Board Members Assume New Roles

In addition to the election of new vice presidents, the CFLPA has revealed that Winnipeg linebacker Adam Bighill will now serve as treasurer. Solomon Elimimian continues as president, and Brian Ramsay remains the executive director. These changes showcase the evolving leadership aimed at fostering the organization’s growth.

Profiles of the New Vice Presidents

Brett Lauther, stepping into his role ahead of his 10th season, has made significant contributions as a kicker, highlighted by winning the Tom Pate Memorial Award in 2023 for his outstanding sportsmanship and community involvement. Jake Thomas, with 187 career games, has shown exceptional performance on the field, acquiring numerous defensive accolades. David Mackie, elected third vice president, has also made his mark in the league with notable special teams tackles and offensive contributions since joining the Lions.

The CFLPA’s leadership transition indicates a continued focus on growth, member welfare, and community involvement, positioning the association for future success.

author avatar
Mark Perry Editor
Mark Perry is the founder and editor of CFL News Hub. A dedicated and experienced football analyst, he has been providing comprehensive coverage of the sport since 2018.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in CFL News

CFL News Hub